Three Greater Ottawa Home Builders Association members have been recognized as finalists in the national Canadian Home Builders Association (CHBA) SAM Awards for Excellence, including Oakwood Renovation Experts, which has received nominations for four projects in two categories.

The winners will be recognized at the CHBA national conference in Halifax on March 6.

OakWood had two projects each in the “any room” and “Whole house – under $250,000” categories. Hierarchy Development and Design also is a finalist in the “any room” category.

Meanwhile, Amsted Design-Build is a finalist in the “whole house – between $250,000 and $500,000” category.

Amsted Design-Build

Amsted Design-Build’s entry is a finalist in the “whole house — $250,000 to $500,000 category.

CHBA President Bard Golightly said that the 2014 SAM Finalists reflect the use of innovative technology and construction techniques, distinctive design and remarkable marketing and sales activities.

Hierarchy Development and Design (HDD)

Hierarchy Development and Design (HDD)’s “any room” finalist entry

“This year’s SAM Finalists are impressive and it was a daunting task for the judges to make their determinations given the quality of entries. It reflects well on the home builder, renovator, and developer members who make up our award finalists for 2014. I look forward to celebrating their accomplishments.”

One of two OakWood "any room" finalist entries

One of two OakWood “any room” finalist entries

The CHBA National SAMs recognize outstanding performance by members for:

  • excellence in new homes and renovation design and construction;

  • distinctive community development;

  • innovative technology and construction techniques;

  • remarkable marketing and sales activities; and

  • commitment to green.

The awards are presented for projects of varying sizes in the following categories: New home awards (eight in total), home renovation awards (five in total), and marketing awards (six in total). There is also a Grand SAM award. This year, the finalists for that award are Albi Homes, Calgary, AB and Sterling Homes (Edmonton) Ltd., Edmonton, AB.